First

18 Dec

Well, since i’m still here in afghanistan, i will be making my best effort to use my time wisely.  this effort has so far included a church history course, some greek, a lot of  books.  my reading skills might not be lacking, but my writing…. rough. I’d like to work on that. So this will be my outlet for sharing thoughts; hopefully edifying, possibly intelligent, and certainly brief.

I will discuss culture, books I might be reading, faith, theology, and anything else I feel compelled to mention.

6 Responses to “First”

  1. Rachel December 21, 2011 at 3:56 am #

    As long as you dont turn into Orson Scott Card

    • brianrecker December 21, 2011 at 5:56 pm #

      if you mean willi become a mormon, then no. if you mean am i going to blog about every thing in my life? still probably no. also, i probably won’t write some of the most entertaining science fiction of the past quarter century, but i wish i could.

  2. Benjamin Finger January 6, 2012 at 11:00 am #

    Hey there Mr. Recker. I just wanted to drop a hello and give you just a bit of encouragement. And to let you know you are actually a pretty good writer, and by no means is your writing rough. Also wanted to say you did a pretty good write up on the importance of the incarnation in Athanasius’ Christology. Plus you nailed some of my favorite passages by him too. But then again who wouldn’t love the little black dwarf who was a leading force in saving us from Arianism and the legends surrounding him.

    Anyhow my name’s Ben and I am actually a part of your home church in MHC, One Harbor. And bro, don’t worry, I am not a stalker, I found your blog this morning while I was surfing the internet just to see what is out there about our church.

    Anyhow keep up the good work man. You are off to a pretty good start.

    If you ever want to dish theology, you can hit me up via facebook or by email at benjamin . finger @ gmail . com

    If you don’t mind me asking whats up with Gordon-Conwell on your sidebar? Are you currently a student or were a student?

  3. Benjamin Finger January 6, 2012 at 1:08 pm #

    Ack sorry about the 2nd paragraph my writing was well bad to say the least.

    What I meant to say was:
    Blogging is such a great way to settle the mind, particularly when in deployment or in some unsettling adventure. Though I am unsure whether you are new to blogging or not, but I wanted to encourage you that it can be very therapeutic and provide a great avenue for spiritual devotion. And another great thing about blogging is all the individuals may encounter. Once you get situated in the blogosphere, its pretty awesome all the folks you can meet that share the same interest. One thing I would encourage you about blogging is to never let it become burdensome. It is an avenue of expression of self, so treat yourself with respect when blogging by not forcing your writing, less to suffer burnout.

  4. David Doran Jr. January 6, 2012 at 7:58 pm #

    Brian- glad i stumbled across your blog here. I’ll try to check in as you write. I enjoyed your last post.

    How long will you be overseas?

    And i am pumped to hear you’re in seminary- i’m almost done with my M.Div and it is WELL worth the time- keep it up!

    I’ll be praying for you over there man.

  5. brianrecker January 6, 2012 at 8:23 pm #

    Thanks all for the feedback. @ dave- i’m only here another 6 weeks! pumped to get home and get back into my church. Do you have plans for when you finish your degree yet? If i haven’t already said so, congrats again on getting married.
    @ ben- thanks again for the feedback, and I look forward to continuing the conversation in person back at one harbor.

Leave a Reply

